Rowntree A-Z

Joseph Rowntree trusts – which is which?

Joseph Rowntree set up three trusts in the so-called Founder’s Memorandum written in 1904.

The trusts have evolved over the last century, developing their outputs to address continuing and changing social pressures and political issues.

The four trusts today are:

The Joseph Rowntree Charitable Trust (its name is unchanged since 1904).

The Joseph Rowntree Foundation (formerly the Joseph Rowntree Memorial Trust, and before that the Joseph Rowntree Village Trust).

The Joseph Rowntree Housing Trust An offshoot of the Joseph Rowntree Foundation, and sharing the same trustees, it was formed in 1968 to address housing questions.

The Joseph Rowntree Reform Trust Ltd (formerly the Joseph Rowntree Social Service Trust Ltd) 

External Links

Support Us

We are a small charity and rely on the generosity of our friends and supporters to run projects. Please join us in expanding this work by making a financial donation. It is easy to pay online (with or without Gift Aid) by clicking the link below, or you can get in touch with us about other ways of giving via